Hello Guest, please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Login with username, password and session length.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Creating a good game, how to:  (Read 5725 times)

Creating a good game, how to:
« on: October 15, 2006, 12:02:32 am »
Well another article brought to you by Fendez.com!

The link to the article is here:
http://fendez.com/index.php?page=readtut&id=6

But you can view it on good ol zfgc here:

Creating a good game:
Well I hear a lot of people say it when they see a good game. How do you make a game that is that good? I don't mean games with mean graphics, or amazing audio, im talking about gameplay here. What makes a game good there? So i started looking into the little habits i have developed over the year, im no expert, but I hope it will help some people.

The first good habit is to have a lot of experience in that area. I personally know you cannot make a good game if you have no idea how to code it most of the time. If you dont have the skills to program certain parts of the game, its best to learn to BEFORE you code the game, you could otherwise come to a dead end and not bother to code it. Its even worse if you dont know the theory, because then you have nothing to work with. This is a MUST. Type out theory for every part of the game. Know what your going to code off by heart before you do, i cant stress this enough.

The second good habit to have is to keep a log of your progress. It might sound silly but its a good way to notice your achievements. It shows you that YOU did that, and you did it in this time. It helps you complete projects faster and improve. You may also become more confident as a result because you see what you are actually capable of, right there in front of you.